My First Phone

Namaste everyone!
This week's prompt is just very amazing. A time to think about the past and smile at those memorable times. I was brought up by my elder sibling who only wanted me to become successful academically. He knew I was an excellent personality, so anything he feels is a distraction, he made sure they were never in close range to me. One of the things he saw was a distraction to my academic growth was a cell phone.

Throughout my stay in high school, I never had a cellphone of my own. Even when I showed a sign that I wanted a phone, I only ended up receiving "M" talks( motivation talks). My brother who I lived with would always say, "Don't fix your attention to phone, focus on your studies. As soon as you are done with your high school, I will get you the best touchscreen phone in town."

So after my secondary education, I came out with good grades and as a way of encouragement and fulfillment of promise, my brother purchased a Tecno phone for me, a touchscreen just as he promised. This was my first phone. The phone was nice, I loved it for some reasons and as I began to associate with friends who had better phones, I began to hate mine for some reasons.

The phone has some battery issues, when fully charged, it still doesn't last long, but I loved this phone because of its storage capacity. It was able to carry those games that excited me those times but as I got into higher institution and began to meet different people of different financial grades, some who had better phones than mine and some mine far way better than, I was exposed to better games that I was attracted to such as shooting and driving games. This is where some fun hatred for my old phone began. Since the phone memory could carry those modern games, I saw it as scrap that could only carry "baby" games and PDFs.

My brother thought my sole aim for fighting to have a cellphone was to make calls and browse educational resources. But to me, I had different needs for the phone. I also wanted a phone at that time to begin my journey on the #hive blockchain, but I wasn't so Happ with the phone as some interfaces I needed to explore the hive ecosystem weren't supported in the device. When I tried installing the Ecency app, I was told, "This application is not compatible with your device", even the Inleo frontend could not load in the phone. This was another reason I didn't enjoy my first phone.

I also didn't admire the quality of the phone's camera. The pictures I used this one to snap were only presentable when I edited them to black and white photos. But I also loved the fact that it had a double SIM slot, meaning I could access different network servers on that same phone.

But despite the hate and the love experiences, I still take it as my first phone because I showed off with it. It served me many purposes I wouldn't have achieved without a phone that's why I still tried my best to keep it for reference purposes, a time like this when I would recall those experiences with the phone.

Thanks for reading. This is my entry for the #iucontest initiative by the #indiaunited community.
All the images are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center