My Experience Meeting Immigrants: A Nigerian Perspective

Been a Nigerian I am and having spent majority of my life within the four corners of the country, I will say I haven't been able to have the experience of been an immigrant. Even though I have heard about people experiencing of moving outside the country, well I have never had the reason to move my life to a foreign land probably because of greener pastures or because of a better opportunity.

But even though I haven't moved out of the country, I have meet with lot of immigrants that have travelled from different part of the world and they found themselves in Nigeria. Not only that I have had the privilege to interact with my fellow Nigerians who at one point left but returned to share their experiences of being abroad.

Image Source

Talking about Nigeria, which is a place of migration in and out and that is filled with so much of history of migration. Over the years, I gave witness lot of people coming into my country from every corners of Africa and even the world. I will say as a Nigerian, the story of migration has been part of our story.

Like I said, even though I have not been able to experience the life of what is means to be an immigrant, I will say my encounters with lot of immigrants and returnees as they are called have actually given me an ideas about what it means to leave your home to a place you are not famialr with. There is this particular experience I had with an immigrant that till today I can not forget and which I will be sharing today.

Back then in my campus days, the way my campus is actually designed Kwara State University, it has lot of students that comes from different countries but most common the African countries. The way we all are as African, it is quick to assume we are all the same. But when you move closer to some of them and interact with them, you will understand that the experience, culture and way of life is different from mine.

I remember having this Ghanaian Roommate then for example. I think that will be when I was in 300level, he always share with me his difficulty trying to adjust to life in Nigeria. And I actually understand the angel he is talking from. The language barrier, the food and also the way we interact with each other in Nigeria has been a challenge for him to adapt. If you are a Nigerian, you will agree with me that we ar known sometimes for been loud and been expressive, for my Ghanaian Roommate, he is more reserved. Even though he came to Nigeria for a good education as he always feels he might not be able to have the opportunity in Ghana his country actually.

immigration-8579109_1280.webp

Image Source

Interacting with few immigrants, I have come to discover some challenges they actually face. The common challenges I have come to discover that every immigrant always face is what I called this constant feeling of been isolated and not belonging to the culture or way of life of that country most especially Nigeria. Even though Nigeria is a very welcoming and lovely place, but also it can be a place whereby it have a lot of rules and norms that might not be written. Not only that, but also stuff like language barriers, like our food and even the way we dress at times can make an immigrant to feel like he is not belonging here at first.

Years ago I think around 5 years ago, I remember having this conversation with a Cameroon man that has moved to Kwara for better job opportunities as I guessed then. That particular time, he is only fluent with French and maybe a bit of English. I can sense communication was really a struggle for him. Big one for him then. Not only that, I think he also have this mindset to come to Nigeria to start a business but he was not able to adapt to our system for the few years and even with the language barrier already on ground, at the end of the day, he was frustrated. I think at the end of the day after 2-3 years, he returned back to his country with frustration.

Talking about immigration, I will say it is a double edged sword. Over the years and with my experience of meeting immigrants and not only that but also hearing the stories of fellow Nigerians that have left and returned back to the country of Nigeria, I can actually xonxlthat migration is a double edged sword. What do I mean by that, on one hand, it is capable of offering people the greener pasture they desire or helping them to escape the difficult circumstances they find themselves in and also on the other hand, it can be quite challenging when you are trying to adapt to your new country and you are not able to.

This post was inspired by the #inleo community and my entry to the #septemberinleo monthly prompt day 19. Feel free to check it out and participate.

SPANISH VERSION

Siendo nigeriano como soy y habiendo pasado la mayor parte de mi vida en los cuatro puntos cardinales del país, diré que no he podido vivir la experiencia de ser inmigrante. Aunque he oído hablar de personas que han vivido la experiencia de mudarse fuera del país, yo nunca he tenido motivos para trasladar mi vida a un país extranjero, probablemente para encontrar pastos más verdes o una oportunidad mejor.

Pero aunque no me he mudado fuera del país, he conocido a muchos inmigrantes que han viajado desde diferentes partes del mundo y se han encontrado en Nigeria. No sólo eso, sino que he tenido el privilegio de relacionarme con compatriotas nigerianos que en algún momento se marcharon pero volvieron para compartir sus experiencias en el extranjero.

Hablando de Nigeria, que es un lugar de entrada y salida de emigrantes y que está lleno de mucha historia de migración. A lo largo de los años, he sido testigo de la llegada a mi país de muchas personas procedentes de todos los rincones de África e incluso del mundo. Como nigeriano, la historia de la migración ha formado parte de nuestra historia.

Como he dicho, aunque no he podido experimentar lo que significa ser inmigrante, mis encuentros con muchos inmigrantes y retornados, como se les llama, me han dado una idea de lo que significa dejar tu hogar para ir a un lugar que no te es familiar. Hay una experiencia en particular que tuve con un inmigrante que hasta hoy no puedo olvidar y que voy a compartir hoy.

Image Source

Por aquel entonces, en mi campus, tal y como está diseñado la Universidad Estatal de Kwara, había muchos estudiantes procedentes de distintos países, pero sobre todo de países africanos. Por nuestra forma de ser como africanos, es fácil pensar que todos somos iguales. Pero cuando te acercas a algunos de ellos e interactúas con ellos, comprendes que la experiencia, la cultura y el modo de vida son diferentes a los míos.

Recuerdo que entonces tenía un compañero de piso ghanés, por ejemplo. Creo que fue cuando estaba en el nivel 300. Siempre me contaba sus dificultades para adaptarse a la vida en Nigeria. Y la verdad es que entendía el ángel del que hablaba. La barrera del idioma, la comida y también la forma en que interactuamos unos con otros en Nigeria ha sido un reto para él adaptarse. Si eres nigeriano, estarás de acuerdo conmigo en que a veces somos conocidos por ser ruidosos y expresivos, pero mi compañero de piso ghanés es más reservado. Aunque vino a Nigeria para recibir una buena educación, siempre ha pensado que en Ghana, su país, no tendría las mismas oportunidades.

Interactuando con algunos inmigrantes, he llegado a descubrir algunos retos a los que realmente se enfrentan. Los retos comunes a los que se enfrentan todos los inmigrantes es lo que yo llamo un sentimiento constante de aislamiento y de no pertenecer a la cultura o al modo de vida de ese país, especialmente Nigeria. Aunque Nigeria es un lugar acogedor y encantador, también puede tener muchas reglas y normas que no están escritas. No sólo eso, sino que cosas como las barreras lingüísticas, nuestra comida e incluso nuestra forma de vestir a veces pueden hacer que un inmigrante sienta al principio que no pertenece a este país.

immigration-8579109_1280.webp

Image Source

Hace años, creo que unos cinco, recuerdo haber tenido una conversación con un camerunés que se había trasladado a Kwara en busca de mejores oportunidades laborales, como supuse entonces. En aquella época, sólo dominaba el francés y quizá un poco el inglés. Intuyo que la comunicación era un verdadero problema para él. Un gran problema para él. No sólo eso, creo que también tenía la idea de venir a Nigeria para montar un negocio, pero no fue capaz de adaptarse a nuestro sistema durante unos años, e incluso con la barrera del idioma ya en el suelo, al final se sintió frustrado. Creo que al cabo de 2-3 años, regresó a su país con frustración.

Hablando de inmigración, diré que es un arma de doble filo. A lo largo de los años y con mi experiencia de conocer a inmigrantes y no sólo eso, sino también de escuchar las historias de compatriotas nigerianos que se han ido y han regresado al país, puedo afirmar que la inmigración es un arma de doble filo. Por un lado, es capaz de ofrecer a la gente el pasto más verde que desean o ayudarles a escapar de las difíciles circunstancias en las que se encuentran y, por otro lado, puede ser todo un reto cuando intentas adaptarte a tu nuevo país y no eres capaz de hacerlo.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center