Nick Cave's Ghosteen Part II for Three Tune Tuesday - Week 171 - win 5 HBI

"20210504_140532.jpg"

Here are my week one hundred and seventy one recommendations for Three Tune Tuesday

Drum roll please.....

Nick Cave - Night Raid

If you tuned in for week 169 for my Nick Drake Three Tune Tuesda, you could easily come to the conclusion that I am covering all the musically inclined Nick's that I know. No, not quite. There is something else at play here. I got chatting with @gibic about concept albums the previous week when I posted some songs from Pink Floyd's wonderful The Wall album, which of course is a concept record and this got me thinking about my favourite concept records.

image.png

image.png

Last week, I started out on a little journey of discovering these concept records and as each artist intended, we are going to listen to them in the order that they appear on the album, no shuffles here my friends.

This is Nick Cave's brilliantly sad, uplifting, heartbreaking, poignant and beautifully raw album Ghosteen. He breaks the album into two parts, with the first 8 songs making up "The Children" and the last 3 songs making up "The Parents"

I went into detail on why this album means a lot to me in this post for anyone who may be interested, I will not retell it here, but rather share the next 3 songs from this excellent concept album.

@ablaze/nick-caves-ghosteen-part-i-for-three-tune-tuesday-week-170-win-10-hbi

Here is the fourth song Night Raid.

There’s a picture of Jesus lying in his mother’s arms
Shuttered windows, cars humming on the street below
The fountain throbbed in the lobby of the Grand Hotel
We checked into room thirty-three well, well

You were a runaway flake of snow
You were skinny and white as a wafer, yeah I know
Sitting on the edge of the bed clicking your shoes
I slid my little songs out from under you

And we all rose from our wonder
We would never admit defeat
And we leaned out of the window
As the rain fell on the street
On the street

They were just a sigh released from a dying star
They were runaway flakes of snow, yeah I know
They annexed your insides in a late night raid
We sent down for drinks and something to eat
The cars humming in the rain on the street below

A fountain throbs in the lobby of the Grand Hotel
The spurting font of creativity, yeah I know
Your head in a pool of your own streaming hair
And Jesus lying in his mother’s arms, just so
Up on the wall, just so

And we all rose up from our wonder
We will never admit defeat
And we leaned out of the window
And watched the horses in the street

Nick Cave - Sun Forest

"A spiral of children climbs up to the sun" - that gets me every time. Every single time. Nick knows the pain.

The lyrics are pasted below for you, though I must admit that I do like the intro of instrumental up to about 2:05, before it turns melancholic and the words come in. They are strong. They are meaningful. They come from the heart.

Remember that this album is best listened to in its entirety.

I lay in the forest amongst the butterflies and the fireflies and the burning horses and the flaming trees, as a spiral of children climb up to the sun, waving goodbye to you and goodbye to me as the past pulls away and the future begins, I say goodbye to all that as the future rolls in, like a wave, like a wave, and the past with its savage undertow, lets go.

Come on everyone, come on everyone
A spiral of children climbs up to the sun
To the sun, to the sun, and on each golden rung
A spiral of children climbs up to the sun

And a man called Jesus, he promised he would leave us with a word that would light up the night, oh the night, but the stars hang from threads and blink off one by one and it isn’t any fun no it isn’t any fun to be standing here alone with nowhere to be with a man mad with grief and on each side a thief and everybody hanging from a tree, from a tree, and everybody hanging from a tree.

Come on everyone, come on everyone
A spiral of children climbs up to the sun
To the sun, to the sun, taking everyone
A spiral of children climbs up to the sun

There is nothing more valuable than beauty, they say, there is nothing more valuable than love and I lie amongst the leaves and the burning trees and the fields of smoke and the black butterflies and the screaming horses and your bright green eyes so beautiful, your bright green eyes, so beautiful.

I am here
Beside you
Look for me
In the sun
I am beside you
I am within
In the sunshine
In the sun

Nick Cave - Galleon ship

The sixth song for today's post is Galleon ship.

Lyrics follow.

If I could sail a galleon ship
Long lonely rider cross the sky
Seek out mysteries while you sleep
And treasures money cannot buy

For you know I see you everywhere
A servant girl, an empress
My galleon ship would will fly and fall
Fall and fly and fly and fall
Deep into your loveliness

And if we rise, my love
Before the daylight comes
A thousand galleon ships would sail
Ghostly around the morning sun

As the city rises up
As the city rises up
As the city rises up
As the city rises up

For we are not alone it seems
So many riders in the sky
The winds of longing in their sails
Searching for the other side

And if we rise, my love
Oh my darling precious one
We’ll stand and watch the galleon ships
Circle around the morning sun

Three Tune Tuesday

That's right, it's Tuesday folks and for our merry little band of ladies and lads, that means sharing tunes, good vibes and engagement. As another week disappears in the rearview mirror, we have loads of engagement and tunes flying around on Three Tune Tuesday and sure isn't that bloody fantastic! I hope you're ready to share three tunes from wherever you find yourself on this magical spinning lump of rock that we all call home and sure you might even sing us a tune if we're lucky?

It's a time of the week when lovers of music, tunes and craic bring their blockchain community three of their finest and brightest tunes to share and celebrate, so let's roll on and let the tunes flow free.

This is my 171st week waxing lyrical for Three Tune Tuesday and we are still going strong.

It started off with me just sharing tunes into what seemed like a void, but little by little others joined and now I'm thrilled that we have a little corner of Hive where we come and share our tunes every Tuesday, and long may it continue. I almost stopped posting the songs and thoughts a few times, but I stuck with it and now interestingly it is my favorite thing about Hive. I love music and now I have a network of folks around the world who love music too and we share our tunes and catch up with each others tunes and discuss them each week. We get Pop, Metal, Rock, Gospel, Folk, Jazz, Rap, Hip-Hop, Trip-Hop, Reggae, Bippy bappidy Flange Hop. Ok I made that one up, but you get the idea, we are all learning about new artists, bands, back stories and sure isn't it just mighty!

Something that excites me the most is that we even get musicians sharing their covers of famous songs and even their own songs from time to time here on #ThreeTuneTuesday, which is a real favorite of mine, as that takes talent, time and dedication.

We are adding New posters and retaining our core of regulars here on #TTT which is fantastic. Let's keep it growing. Over the years, I have listened to fantastic music shared from like-minded folk from around the globe and interacted with their posts. This has led me to genres I don't know well and to some amazing new bands and artists and has even introduced me to some musical instruments I did not know existed. It also allows me to upvote smaller accounts and find some really interesting people from all over the world, which is heartening.

I hope you enjoy the tunes - be sure to tell me all about it in the comments below and above all else, please enjoy the rest of your Tuesday - smile at a stranger, rub a dog, be a nice human to someone who was not expecting it - peace out.

For those unfamiliar with TTT or Three Tune Tuesday....

The jist is as follows

Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs which I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #threetunetuesday tag that would be great, as that is what I use when sifting through all the entries every Wednesday. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You'll also be in with a chance of winning the prize - more on that later.

HBI contest - win 5HBI

Share your Three Tune Tuesday songs below or create a post with #ttt or #threetunetuesday and mention me so I can find the post.

I'll pick the three songs I enjoyed the most each week as the winner and transfer 1 share of HBI to the winner when this post pays out 7 days from now, but wait there's more...

Three Tune Tuesday Sponsors

I have recently reduced the sponsor list to 5 and they are as follows @thebighigg @tengolotodo @bozz @coquicoin @ablaze

I will also list the following for a while in case any want to rejoin the list of sponsors.

@juliopalomo @blackdaisyft @hannes-stoffel @inthenow @wwwiebe @grindan @jasperdick @dbooster @geneeverett

5 SHARES OF HBI FOLKS!!!! BOOM!!!

Thanks a million to our sponsors above once again.

Best of luck!

Sin é, That's all folks, thanks for stopping by.

That's it for another week. Those are your three songs for this week. Let me know what you think - good, bad or indifferent? Did you like them all or just one or two?

Also, as I said before, I love getting good steers for new tunes, so please tell me about the latest and greatest from your playlist below and I'll be sure to check em out.

The YouTube videos shared are not owned by me and I am simply sharing great music with the community here on Hive

Thanks as always for stopping by everyone and a big shout out to @stickupcurator whose continued generous support to #ttt is noticed and truly appreciated - thanks gents.

Peace Out

"Ablaze.jpg"

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now