Let’s Crochet A Crop Top

Hello everyone, so I want to share one of creative tops I’ve ever made with you all. My cousin visited us during the weekend and she came with my niece. She saw me crocheting and she seemed so interested. I asked her if she would like to try and she shouted yes. I like it when people get happy about crocheting.

She said she wanted to make a cute top. I asked her if she knew anything about crochet and she said no which made me laugh. “How on earth do you want to make a cute top if you don’t even know how to hold a hook”. Her zeal to learn was really impressive.

I asked her what colours she wanted and she said black, red, blue, peach and orange. That even made me laugh so much. All those colors in one top?. I decided to make the top for her whiles making her think she was making it herself. I used about 8 hours to make this top.
The materials I used were;
• 50g balls of yarn
• 1.60mm crochet hook
• measuring tape

Since she asked for so many colours, I started by combining the colors. I combined the red with the orange and the blue with the peach.
I started making the top with black because black is a bold and universal enough to stand alone. Looking at her, I could tell her size so I didn’t bother to measure her.
I started by making single crochet back loops of about 24inches for the bottom band.

I then started building on the band with single crochets. I made single crochet rows for about 5 inches. In total, it was about 6.5 inches.
I moved on to the hands of the top. I made the hands with red and orange yarns of about 6.5 inches. I used half double crochet to make the hands of the top.

I then went ahead to “linen” the upper edges of the the top with the blue and peach combinations.

At the back of the top, she wanted it to be laced so I created the lace holes with the blue and peach yarns. I made five single crochets and then two chains, skip two chains and made another. 5 single crochets. Then I will I then made the lace itself with the blue and peach yarn.

When she woke up, I showed her the top and she was so excited. I was going to tell her she made it herself but of course she is smart enough to know she didn’t so I just told her I made it for her as a gift for wanting to learn crocheting.
Thank you for your time.

All images are mine

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now