Circumventing European Censorship

It seems there's not much time left for [the pathetic remnants of] the freedom of speech in Europe. For this reason, here are a few of my favorite ways to circumvent our local censorship schemes:

  1. The anonymizing software Tor was created for this exact purpose: https://www.torproject.org/
    • I've been using it every day for many years;
    • It's easy to use;
  2. Cheap or free virtual machine at Amazon (or elsewhere) in the USA (or elsewhere), through which I direct my internet traffic;
    • I've been using it regularly for almost a year;
    • It's harder to use;
  3. Proxy software and/or a minicomputer such as the raspberry pi at a friends's place outside the censored territory;
    • I've been using it every day for years;
    • It's harder to use;
  4. Some commercial VPN;
    • I haven't used it personally, but I know how it works, etc. I highly recommend it;
    • It's easy to use and will probably even have a support team for assistance - you're a paying customer, all the same!

And just in case any of you think that there is no censorship, or that it's appropriate, you should take a look at the GDPR [General Data Protection Regulation] and its effects. Run a search for Article 13, and glance over the second link on this link to the Bulgarian Government Gambling Commission's site: http://www.dkh.minfin.bg/bg/page/439 ... It's a list of web pages Bulgarian internet providers have to prevent access to, even when using a shared hosting service, which potentially prevents access to legitimate pages.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now