Californians to vote to split into 3 states

There are many things that I do not understand, and one of the things is how the electoral college works (feel free to explain it to me) However the way that I understand things is that if half of the state (+1) of Pennsylvania votes republican then the republican candidate wins all 20 votes from that state.

What I am trying to point out is that the republicans (red) and the democrats (blue) are just about neck and neck, and the 'swing states' (gray) sometimes vote for the red and sometimes the blue.

I say that to point out that the dems. almost rely on 55 votes coming from the state of California (although I imagine that there is quite the presents of red there.) There is something called gerrymandering which is basically stacking the deck. So California (as well as other states) are playing a 'fair' game of dice...however the dice are loaded, so it is a legal way to cheat.

With the proposed split in the state of California, the way that I see things if California splits then the unfair poker game will be over (in that state...for a period of time) So voter fraud might be sent to the hangman's noose.

https://www.yahoo.com/gma/proposal-split-california-three-states-makes-november-ballot-085603479--abc-news-topstories.html

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center