Steemit Poker League #1 - I won it and I want to share with you some professional analysis

U5drTEo2eaEKQ4v27GRmEindRtFNu9v_1680x8400.png

Hey guys,

So I decided to talk about the first tournament of Steemit Poker League, organised by @tuck-fheman. He posted about it some days ago https://steemit.com/poker/@tuck-fheman/steemit-poker-league-6-21-200-sbd-freeroll-results-and-final-table

Fortunately I end up winning the tournament, so I decided to share some professional thoughts about it.

znhhl1au0oyynz7sn7ud.jpg

So it has a NLHE 6-max turbo structure, Tuck and more 3 guys started in my table, so we were 5-handed but 2 guys were sitting out turning the game into a 3-handed effective. Tuck was playing insanely tight and the other guy who I don't recall the name (sorry) was playing almost 95% of hands so I had to widen up to combat him. No big deal as Head's Up is my currently main game. We started to battle and steal blinds from Tuck and the 2 sitting out guys. So after some time I got AA and knew that one of them could play me back as I was playing super agressive, so I'm UTG and I open raise, Tuck on the button 3bets me small with less than 20 big blinds, so my image was a crazy man and he was playing super tight so I thought that he would never fold to a reraise, so no point to flat and trap him, I shoved all-in and he calls and shows AJ, gg Tuck. I don't like the 3bet non All-in there as you'll end up missing a lot of flops and could make some mistakes there. I'd just 3bet shove all-in there with less than 20bb.

So next table, I was bullying the table again and had some luck on this hand, 10 8 of clubs, so I'm on the button with 14 big blinds. The small blind was sitting out so I could do a couple of things there. The big blind guy wasn't super agressive so min raising and folding if he goes all-in is more profitable than just open shoving. I do minraise and he clicks raise button back. So he gave me a gazillion % pot odds to call and see the flop, so I called. Flop is 873 and I have a pot bet left so I'm never folding there, he bets and I shove the rest. He had JJ but luckly an 8 comes on the turn.

Starting stacks were 3k so at semi-final table I had like 22k or something, just using my knowledge and winning a lot of post flop pots and some standard all-in situations.

In Tuck's post there's a video of the final table so watch if you want.
People were doing crazy stuff like raising 10bb and folding to a 23bb shove, and killing each other in bloated pre-flop pots, a lot of mistakes and spewy plays, so I was there dodging them and climbing up the payout ladder, I got under 15bb and mostly played a solid push-or-fold game until reach Head's up. @theewoolf who is also a professional had like a 8:1 chip lead on me and I knew I had to run good to win. I had 7bb and got completely card dead for the next 5 hands. At this point I had 4 bb and got dealt Q7, standard shove no matter what he does in the hand, it's profitable to get it in with that stack size. So I manage to win the all-in and with 8bb I'm super confortable playing as I play the hyper turbo structure on PokerStars. Next hand is AA , he open shoves T9o and double me up. Now I get KTo with 11bb and usually best ev play here vs a good player is limp and call whatever he bets, even all-in. He does shove the 33, we flip and I win this one. Last hand is a Q4 with 5bb effective, clear shove, any Q is a shove there, I jam he calls and I manage to win vs KT to win the tournament.

So you have to play good and had a little bit of lucky to win these turbo structure tournaments.
I hope you guys liked it, see you tomorrow in the next tourney!

Bye bye

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center