Pot Committed

Dogs Playing Poker.jpg
Image by 12019 from Pixabay

"What choice?" - Professor Petrovsky, Rounders

With the exception of an occasional hiatus for a geographic, I've been playing poker for eighteen years give or take. From online tournaments (pre Black Friday) to high-stakes home games that featured a steel door and an armed host to a penthouse crypto tournament courtesy of @theycallmedan at HiveFest 2023. And I loved (almost) every minute of it!

And yet, for some reason, I keep trying to walk away. I keep telling myself that I'm not good enough or that I don't have time for these kinds of shenanigans. But here I am. Today I sit here fresh off last night's weekly (virtual) home game, scanning the internets for IRL weekend poker room tournaments in my fair city. Perhaps I have to finally admit that poker and I are in a relationship and, regardless of what I might occasionally wish, I can't quit her. So yeah, maybe 2024 can be my year of leaning (back) into poker.

I don't know what form it will take exactly, cash or tournament, live or online (probably all the above), but just like Matt Damon's character Michael in the movie Rounders, I am turning this car around and heading back to buy into the game and make a night of it. Deal me in Worm.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now