Goals and Expectations for the 2017 WSOP- isnortbooze Report

Goals and Expectations for the 2017 WSOP- isnortbooze Report

I will be going for 6 days, to play the $1,111 Little Drop for One Drop as well as some side events and represent Team Betcoin.

The 2017 World Series of Poker is coming to a close. So I will be heading out there this week! I know, I know... I missed a lot of great events, but when you have multiple kids, the idea of spending 2 months away is not super appealing to your significant other. So I will be going for 6 days, to play the $1,111 Little Drop for One Drop as well as some side events and represent Team Betcoin. I like this event because it is the final event of the series and coincides with the main event.

Little Drop for One Drop

This means most of the people who bust out of the main event will jump in this event afterwards, hoping for one last shot at a bracelet. Since the main event has notoriously terrible players, many of the ones busting day 1 and 2 will be getting in the Little Drop and will hopefully be adding a little tilt factor to their already bad play. This also causes the field to be one of the largest of the series, giving a massive prize pool with a first place award that should be in the $600,000 range. It also has one of the best structures of a lower buy-in event with 10,000 starting chips and 1 hour levels, so there will be plenty of time to play some actual poker, without getting into too many forced push/fold situations. Lastly, my good friend got 2nd in this event a few years ago for $400k and even though that is completely meaningless, it somehow makes winning seem more realistic to me.

Other Tournaments

Although there will be no more bracelet events, if I bust early from the Little Drop, there are great tournaments running everywhere during this time, including the 4 daily deepstacks held at the Rio every day. While most of my time will be spent grinding, I will have an equally great purpose while I am there. To promote Betcoin! I have a massive stack of Betcoin business cards I will be handing out and enough Betcoin apparel to make it through the entire trip while always wearing some piece of Betcoin gear. I am always saying on my stream that Betcoin has the best service and VIP program and fastest withdrawals around and now will be my chance to spread that message even further. I will try and keep you guys in the loop as far as how things are going for me and maybe even do some live video updates on my stream. Hopefully I will also meet some new contacts out there who I can interview for future episodes of Tipsy Talk!

My Goals

Here are some goals I have set for myself while I am there

  1. Make it to Day 2- The early stages of tournaments should be spent getting to know your opponents. Before the antes kick in, it is best not to get yourself into high variance spots such as flips or getting into large pots on draws. 20-25% of the field will make it to day 2 and the bubble should burst fairly quickly on that day, around 15%, so if I make day 2, there is a great chance of getting in the money. Then I can work on winning the whole thing.

  2. Call Less Preflop and on Flop- These are situations where you need a really strong hand to flat call. In most marginable spots, you are better off either folding or betting with some equity, while also giving yourself a chance to win the pot by forcing a fold.

  3. Call more on Turn and River- These are spots where if your opponent bets into you, they are much more likely to be polarized, having either a monster or total air. Because of this, it is often best to just flat, even with a great hand (that isn't the nuts) because your opponent will only be calling you with a better hand.

  4. Keep Away From Solid Players- In a tournament like this, there is no reason to build huge pots in leveling wars with great players. There will always be enough weak players at the table for the regs to get their fair share.

  5. Pounce on Weak Players- There are 2 major kinds of weak players. The ones that call too often. Against these players I will make sure to only bet with the winners and extract max value when that happens. The other type is the ones who are too tight. Against these players, I will take a more aggressive strategy, especially when stealing blinds.

  6. Pay Attention- It is difficult to pay attention at a live game when you are used to multi-tabling online. Things I need to look out for are my opponents betting patterns, even when I am not involved in the hand. I also need to make sure to keep a good count on my opponents' stack sizes as well as the number of chips in the pot.

  7. Stay Rested- Sitting in a poker room for 10-12 hour days can get extremely tedious and can often be uncomfortable. I need to get plenty of rest, wear comfortable clothing and drink lots of fluids. I am also going to try to eat healthy and get some swimming in. If I must, I will have some coffee towards the end of the day.

  8. No Tilting- For some reason I tilt more when losing a big pot live than when I play online. Perhaps that is because there is less to distract me live. I have punted many stacks after taking bad beats in live poker and I hope to be able to avoid that this time around. If necessary, I can take a quick walk around and miss a few hands or even have a quick drink to cool my head a bit.

  9. Remember What I am Playing For- Poker is a fun way to earn a living. But I have a family, so I need to make it less about fun and more about profit. Sometimes when I play online, I will mess around on stream, drinking too heavily or experimenting with new moves but when I am playing for a $600,000 top prize, obviously there is little room for error. I need to make sure I stay at the top of my game all the time and if I am not playing my best, to make the necessary adjustments. I re-watched one of my favorite WSOP Main Events yesterday, the 1997 series where Stu Ungar won his third title. At the end he pulls out a picture of his daughter and said he had her in mind the entire series. I need to think about my kids and how the more money I win, the better life I can provide for them.

Good luck!

support@swcpoker.eu

Download and use affiliate code: Blazin8888

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center