Winners of Steemit Poetry Contest #9



DISCLAIMER - Yes, I know that the Steemit logo has changed, but I like the old one more and do not want to change it :)



logocontest.png




My Greetings To You!




About Prizes:


First Place - 7 SBD

Second Place - 6 SBD

Third Place - 5 SBD

Fourth Place - 4 SBD

Fifth Place - 3 SBD

Sixth Place - 2 SBD

Seventh Place - 1 SBD






The winners of the Steemit Poetry Contest #9



Assigning the theme of this episode, I thought about the holidays - joy, fun, happiness... but it turned out as it turned out.






1st Place - "The bloody Christmas in QUETTA" by @aaqib11b



Like a secret crumbled in the sandy shore .......

Christmas came back with all its furore......

Like a butterfly in the midst of love.......

Bombed the nation with a single blow.....



Oh god...came to church for peace....

Why did the Bible tasted my blood

All because I belong to you....

Enough the blood to make it flood....



They came in to kill us in the house of Lord.....

So was religion,so is God .....

We stand firm on the flakes of snow.....

To celebrate the Christmas blow.....






2nd Place - "The Joys of (Red) Christmas" by @steemedchitty



Christmas has come here once again,

to spread the gift of joy.

But Christmas may have come in vain!

The devil with us toys.



A big red fat man on a throne

his red fat elves instructs.

Give stolen gifts from sources plenty,

our conscience to obstruct.



But New Year's Eve is coming soon,

as tensions remain taut.

Will I hear a different tune?

And will I choose the song?






3rd Place - "Resolve it again" by @danmaruschak



It's time for a new year and new resolutions

And I don't mean 4K or 1080p.

But I wouldn't mind if, without attribution,

Secret Santa got me some technology.



No, no, self-improvement not more mass consumption

Is truly what this time of year calls out for.

Though passing up cookies and feasts? Not an option,

And now that you offer I would like some more.



Cultivate virtue, that's what I plan on doing,

Just as soon as I open this gift here for me.

You can test my resolve, there's goals I'm pursuing.

Or there will be, at least, once we take down the tree.






4th Place - "Merry Christmas" by @dagger212



"Mommy, where's Santa? Did he not come last night?"

Asked my 6 and my 4 year old, breathlessly waiting.

"We've tried to be good and we've tried not to fight,

and we've done all our chores 'thout complaining."



What do I tell them? Oh, what do I say?

That their food and the rent are their toys?

The hope in their eyes on this greatest of days

Breaks my heart. How to let down my boys?



A knock on the door, it's the old man upstairs

Says he saw Santa's list with a wink.

From a bag at his side he pulls three unwrapped treasures.

"Merry Christmas," he whispers then leaves.






5th Place - "What Happened To Christmas?" by @Lymmerik



Have you seen my Christmas? I've misplaced it, I fear.

Well, I'm only sixty, and I left it right here!

It was only one week before the New Year.

It can't have gone far, it must be still near.



I called the North Pole, no answer, I swear.

I can't even reach Olive, the other reindeer.

What happened to Christmas? It's finally clear.

A commercialized relic, now wrapped in cashmere.



I looked high and low, in fact, everywhere.

In October I found it, now isn't that queer?

So now if you listen, shhh listen, you'll hear.

Merry Christmas to all, from Lymmerik with Cheer!






6th Place - "Time's Tidings Ticking To Two-Thousand and Eighteen" by @belovebelight



Time, its pace unknown, as it reaches its hand to lend,

Silent as snow, the year creeps quickly to an end.

Lending a feeling of infinite possibilities and progress,

For the end of the year, it will now digress.



Time for reflection but too many are busy,

As everyone frantically buys items in a tizzy.

Holiday cheer and loving embrace by those close,

Raising hands to clink with a toast.



Time to find peace within, while spreading joy,

Great tidings to every age; fully-grown as well as girl and boy.

Finding that second to cherish and love,

Keeping ever thankful for the blessings from above.






7th Place - "A Wish" by @fishyculture



Twinkling lights under blanket of snow,

Fireplace crackling and no where to go.

Watching the flakes as they pile up deep,

Snuggling in for a cozy night's sleep.



Morning comes children and squeals of delight,

Somebody stuffed all the stockings last night!

The tree is surrounded with gifts, large and small,

The home filled with laughter and song, wall to wall.



Too many people will have none of this,

No one is looking at their Christmas list.

I give them this wish and it is most sincere:

May you be greatly blessed in the upcoming year!






Rules of The Contest!


  • Only one entry is allowed.

  • Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #poetrycontest

  • The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.

  • You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.

  • The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).

  • Do not steal! The contest is only original works!






I wish everyone good luck and creativity!





Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!



Sincerely, Terry Craft.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center