Poem of the day 9: Love and Sadness

I wrote this for a dear friend of mine that I went to school who lost her life before her time in 2003.Chelsea was struggling with a lot of things in her life and she thought the only way out was by leaving. I miss hearing her laugh, miss seeing her smile and most of all I miss our friendship and what we use to do together. She will always be in my heart.

Love and Sadness

Somehow the wind seems colder
without you by my side.
The tears of joy and happiness have faded
to the darkness of my mind.
As I cry myself to sleep each night,
I replay the memories we shared
fighting to live our dreams.
And the sunshine always fell on me
as you smiled and wiped away my tears
and I know you will be with me everywhere I go.
Because without you, I can’t go on.
Now all that exists is your treasures and memories
of our past together.
I will try harder to succeed in life
however, it will be difficult
since I no longer have your hand to guide me
loving through the hardships of life.
I will try to teach as you taught me,
to always forgive whether my fault or not.
And always listen with an open heart
as you did for me so long before we were apart.
I will try to paint the world as I see it
without your loving hand over mine.
And I will try to be braver
knowing you are very close by
and will always be with me in my heart, spirit, and mind.

By: Thressa D Scott
Date: July 12, 2003

Please remember to subscribe, give it a thumbs up and comment below.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center