Poem of the day 11: Mother

I wrote this poem in 1996 for my mom. At that time, I thought I wanted to be like her in some ways, but now, not so much. I have found my own way and living my life the way I feel is right. My mom is a good person, she raise 4 girls on her own for a while till she met the man I now call dad in 1985. In 1986, my mom got the finalization on her divorce from my biological father, and then in 1987, she and my dad were married a year after my little brother was born. My mom has done some good things in her life and I hope she is around for a long time.

Hope you all enjoy and let me know what y'all think.

Mother

I’ve always wanted someone
To be really close to,
I never thought that someone
Would be you.
You have helped me many ways
In my life.
You are not just my mother,
But my father’s wife.
I always watch what you do
And hear what you say,
I only hope when I’m grown,
I’ll act the same way.
I would never tell you to leave me
Or go away,
No matter what happens,
I know I want you to stay.
I need you now and forever
With me right here,
If you ever go far,
I’ll wish you were near.
You are a terrific mother
And will forever be,
I hope you know just how much
You mean to me.
You are my mother and my best friend too,
I can’t imagine what I’d do without you.

By: Thressa (Dunn) Scott
Copyright: June 1996

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center