Love No Less

I loved first when I was a girl
I was sure I'd never love again the way I loved her.
I haven't, but of this I am sure
I have loved none the less for having loved more.

My love for her was the color of walnut finish
Like her hair and her eyes
And it was made up of all the little touches
It kept its' life force in my memory
Of all the words she said to me.

I loved second when I was a teenager
I knew I would never meet anyone like her anywhere
I haven't, and of this I am sure
I loved her none the less for having loved one more.

My love for her was the color of the sky before a storm
Like the walls of her bedroom
And it was made up of all the pulling back and forth
I felt it in my body like electricity
Running like the twenty-four hour trains in the city.

I love now, and I am still young
I know I will never find someone to replace her
But I don't want to, of this I am sure
And I will love her none the less for having loved more.

My love for her is the color of the sea in the summer
Like the color she looks best in
And it's made up of all the stolen looks and kisses
She's killing me with the near misses.

And if, someday, I love again,
And I love her with a different color
My love for her will be no less
For having loved the more.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center