See How It Bleeds


Poem so new it didn't have a name until just this moment. Unedited and unworked so far, just a rough reading (even I don't know it off by heart yet!)

SEE HOW IT BLEEDS

Been chancing on some reading, doing lots of self-improvement
Been doing lots of dancing, leading with my movement.
I'm not sure what I want, but I think I might be learning
What I will and what I won't and what it is I'm yearning for
How to say 'stop, I can't take any more'
To recognise which are my flaws and which are yours
And yes, I'm starting to really find
That a lot of them are really mine
And at the end of the day that's just fine
As long as I work on them, in time.
And I am, I'm swimming now, not sinking
Been doing lots of thinking
I've quit drinking
I have no regrets, for my mistakes let me know
How much room I have tongrow
They show in glaring neon highlight gliw
Flickering pink green blue lightshow
Here lies your insecurity, beaten by your daring
Come fight your demons, forget your dignified bearing
This isn't war with tooth and claw, this is sharing
Open-mouthed, snotty, crying, wearing
Your heart on your sleeve
Being brave enough to hiccup not just your wants but your needs
And the next thing you know, that demon lies dead, see how it bleeds
And the stains won't wash out for some time, it'll haunt you still
Its name will become a forgotten line, its unwanted space filled
Now by experience and the hindsight that is 20/20 with all you've learned
Don't stop growing, day and night - it's plenty, it's what you've earned
Thought you might st times feel battered
Feel you're living rough in your own mind in tattered clothing
And self-loathing, like you're the end of your own world
But you're not, you're your standard bearer, flag unfurled
On the battlefield of your heart
There's no way to stop, never too late to start
So get up there and make your stand, be vulnerable
Speak your truth with integrity and be honorable
Because we don't fall in love with those that are flawless strong
The stone-cold who never fear and never cry from the day they're born to the day they die
But we fall for those like us, who hurt and tumble down and break
Not the ones frozen still but the ones whose hands shake
When they sob, the ones who haven't been robbed
Of their humanity and softness
Be bold, and we can be companions in lostness

If you're enjoying my poetry please do let me know! Also if you have any favourite poets you want to recommend on Steem or Dtube I'd love to hear them! Thanks guys!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center