Poem - I will Not Forget Our Yesterday

Stars Danced in your beautiful eyes
The night of our first meeting
It sill seems like only yesterday
But at the time of our first greeting
My heart was full of butterflies

I tried to sound sincere and wise
Intelligent words without meaning
It still seems like only yesterday
My hands were nervously preening
While I wore the disguise of the wise

You saw through my wise disguise
With all my nervous preening
It still seems like only yesterday
You took my hand that evening
Then melted away my feeble disguise

The touch of your hand and look of your eyes
Sent the butterflies fleeing
It still seems like only yesterday
It seemed like I was dreaming
No more falsehoods or accepted social lies

I am constantly amazed at how time flies
It's been so long since our first meeting
It still seems like only yesterday
And though our time on earth is fleeting
The stars still dance in your beautiful eyes

I will not forget our yesterday.

This is my entry for the Poetry Contest hosted by @hopehuggs
information can be found here: https://steemit.com/poetry/@hopehuggs/poetry-contest-runaway-rhymes-6-first-or-worst

If you are participating also. best of luck!!!
Thanks for reading, liking, up-voting, re-steeming, subscribing, and following!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now