Expression Session | #19 and #20: Nature and the Cosmic Connection

Today, flu-ridden, I watched "El Abrazo del Seripente Cosmico" (Embrace of the Cosmic Serpent). It hit home for me as I can relate with my personal experiences living in the Amazon jungle of Ecuador. To say the least, my heart is with people in "developing" countries as missionaries, ,environmentalists, and corporations try to control resources, culture and soul, and choice.

During the movie I felt inspired and sad and all kinds of emotions. I also felt sad about my own disconnection from thriving connection with nature... Given the flu, everything could have gone all bad and I could have fallen into a pit of sorrow and helplessness. Thank goodness I went outside instead!

These are haikus in celebration, grief, praise, and connection with nature. I hope you enjoy!

How do I do it?
Sing a song damnit, just try
Like awkward first steps.

First steps are right here,
The longing, the desire...
Right here it's that simple

I don't know how
I'm willing to try again
Every time, I try

I learn something new
Nature gives so beautifully
Her kindness astounds

Tree grooves like rivers
Every which way you turn
Infinite life flows

Bird songs so sweet
Thank you for this gift
I offer mine with heart

You are worth courage
Anything less insulting
I bellow for you

Dying you still give
This air is extraordinary
I can see her magic

Sweet onion remedy
Of course the cure for flu
I drink you in friend

mark-basarab-122141.jpg

Photo by Mark Basarab on Unsplash

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center