Morning Verse (German and English)

German (Original)

Ich schaue in die Welt,
In der die Sonne leuchtet,
In der die Sterne funkeln;
In der die Steine lagern,
Die Pflanzen lebend wachsen,
Die Tiere fühlend leben,
In der der Mensch beseelt,
Dem Geiste Wohnung gibt;

Ich schaue in die Seele,
Die mir im Innern lebet.
Der Gottesgeist, er webt
Im Sonn‘- und Seelenlicht,
Im Weltenraum, da draußen,
In Seelentiefen, drinnen.

Zu Dir, o Gottesgeist,
Will ich bittend mich wenden,
Dass Kraft und Segen mir
Zum Lernen und zur Arbeit
In meinem Innern wachse.

Rudolf Steiner GA 40, 351

English

I look into the world

In which the sun is shining

In which the stars are sparkling

Where stones in stillness lie

Where living plants are growing

Where animals live in feeling

Where Man, within his soul gives dwelling to the spirit.

I look into the soul that lives within my being.

The world creator weaves in sunlight and in soul-light.

To Thee, Creator Spirit, I turn my heart to ask

That blessing and pure strength

For learning and for work

May ever grow within me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now