Across The Sahara (A Poem)

As a realist of African descent, I cannot very well ignore the distressing situation just across the Sahara, why it happened in the first instance, and it's ominous aftermath. Hence, my partner and I (the owners of the facebook page "African Poetry") decided to do a collaborative poem on this issue and thus help in putting a stop to this inhumane act. @qurator @originalworks @thesteemengine @felt.buzz may check it out and share your thoughts.

ACROSS THE SAHARA

(Jovi)
Across the mediterranean
Light appears on the map
But then you must cross the shores
Shores made of chains
Chains that latch on black legs and feets

(Wesley)
Was it not Osamudia who pointed the way?
Let's go away
Living in this zoo is a waste
Yonder, there is peace
Across the dry parched Sahara there is wealth
The green backs we seek we'll get
Onward till we're financially free

He said,
(Jovi)
Let me take you across.
The Mediterranean is my route
Along its path I have treaded
On its roads I have beded
Freedom for hope
Is all I charge
For a journey across the shores

(Jovi)
A thousand for a black man
More hundreds if he has muscles
A little less thousands if he has brains
She shall toil the fields in the day
And feed our desires in the night
Bring him under the sun
So I can see for myself
If we are both blacks

(Wesley)
Ah! I can't feel My back!
Red intermingled with black
As the whip of our own race landed
A command here
an order there
My brothers taken to the deep and left to drown
A drink of brine is glorious
Yes, Two spoonfuls of food a day is a relief

(Wesley)
I hear Nneka is no more
They raped her!
It was her body for money
From dusk till morning
I could hear her scream
her strength waned
Her eyes stared sightless,
confused, at the skies
She couldn't live free, so she died hard.

And What about our brothers, Osato?

(Jovi)
With tears in their eyes
Chains on their feet
Locks on their mouth
And masters controlling their fate
Our brothers mope
They are not alone
For we all remember
That their eyes once beamed
Their feet once ran
And their voices once echoed

(Wesley)
Back to the zoo the remnants came
Dejected
Broken
With a silence louder than a scream in the dark
Painfully begging for respite
Respite that may never come!

images.jpgIMG_20180119_071257_793.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center