Poem "In and Out of Focus"

in-and-out-of-focus-0.jpg

Project after project knocked off the list.
It’s afternoon and my eyes burn.
Complete and utter unwanting of looking into any screen.

The sun is out and I drive to my loves shop,
hoping to convince her to pack up for the day.
She agrees and we drive downtown, headed for a stroll.

I keep not focusing on anything, no face, no thing.
Just unfocus my eyes, give them some rest.
I look at some clouds, they’re far enough away.
I look at the trees, their friendly and harmless green,
big enough to see without focusing.

My eyes relax, the tightness loosens up,
we joke around in a café
and the angle of the sunlight on a house reminds me of France.

In and out of focus.
In and out of ambitiousness.
There’s more than my eyes can see.
There is more space
between things.

Photo taken in 2012 with an iPhone, added depth.

Disclaimer: The title "In and Out of Focus" is an album title of the Dutch band Focus, which I greatly admire.

Follow @oliverwood

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center