Glare and Mirror - An Original Poem & Artwork


Hello Steemians. This video is a very sleepy performance of a poem I had written earlier in the day. Let me know what you think and whether you relate to it, I'd love to read of your opinions :) I've written it down below too. Oh also...when I mention 'd.tube' in the video...I actually mean 'dsound' (did I mention I was sleepy?) I accompanied the poem with a visual I also made today whilst (inevitably) procrastinating, so I hope that brings you extra melancholy-esque joy...if there's such a thing.

Glare & Mirror

sometimes I deceive myself

believing I’m stronger than I am;

in personal matters

I couldn’t give a damn

there’s too much

world suffering to meet the eye

of mine and what’s happening inside.

I’ve hurt

but who hasn’t?

I’m hurting but my legs remain

unscathed. I scream,

taking a breath

to do so, with a voice

others can hear.

sometimes I say

‘I don’t deserve to suffer’

not because I shouldn’t

nor that others should more

but that with the privilege

granted since birth

surely all I must feel is gratitude.

gratitude for family, friends

and shelter for an able body

promised food, stability.

gratitude for a lifetime

out of sight, out of mind

of war, poverty and violence.

yet sensitivity still follows me

its presence marked as tears

streaming sorrow, bequeathing

a pensive tomorrow

my woes are inexpensive

though too uncompromising.

with a destined glare

and mirror,

hurt will be here.

Nothing like a bit of melancholia to sweeten up your week ;)

Peace and love, people x

another cirlcle blck white small.jpg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center