"Poison" an Original poem inspired by "A Poison Tree" (by William Blake)

Here are 2 poems. The first one is a classic written by William Blake. It is one of my favorites and inspired me to write the second one. Remember, I was in like 9th grade at the time so it's kinda immature.

A Poison Tree
Poem lyrics of A Poison Tree by William Blake.

I was angry with my friend:
I told my wrath, my wrath did end.
I was angry with my foe;
I told it not, my wrath did grow.

And I water'd it in fears,
Night & morning with my tears;
And I sunned it with my smiles
And with soft deceitful wiles.

And it grew both day and night,
Till it bore an apple bright;
And my foe beheld it shine,
And he knew that it was mine,

And into my garden stole
When the night had veil'd the pole:
In the morning glad I see
My foe outstretch'd beneath the tree

And Here is my version

Poison
I keep the anger inside of me
like energy
I let it build up and strike out
intermittently
It's unpredictable, like the path of the twister
leaving damage like the aftermath of a blizzard
from here to Tennessee, I use trickery
to fool the enemy
Like the way I hold grudges
my thirst for vengence grows like shrubbage
quick, like the bamboo stick
can't rise above it.
as time grows it eventually blooms
illuminescent fruit that leads to the tomb

and he saw the the shine, but he didn't know
that it was fruit from a venomous vine
and it was mine

so, cool, calm, and cold I awaited
when he was shielded by the darknes of night
he infiltrated
and took of the fruit of which I cultivated
with poisonous thoughts
and he smiled as he ate it

suddenly his hands clinched his chest
he fell on the ground flopping like a fish
gasping for breath

at dawn I check on my trap
and found my enemy outstretched
upon his back.


If you like this, check out some of my other stuff.

Morning Holocaust - poem about shaving
TGIF - Original Spoken Word Poem

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center