The Effects of Anxiety -- Steemit School 100 Days of Poetry Challenge {DAY 1}

Please bare with me as I share some of my poetry today. I haven't written any since I was a teen, with the exception of the poem below. I want to get back into writing poetry, however, so I am using the Steemit School 100 Day Poetry Challenge as a great way to step out of my comfort zone!

This poem talks about how I feel when that dreaded monster known as anxiety creeps up into my mind and decides to set up shop. Some days I can shake it....others, it just won't go away! It is written as free verse, and it still may break several rules of poetry.

I honestly just sat down and let the words pour out when thinking about how I feel when I'm really anxious. Any constructive criticism is very welcomed!!

anxiety-2019928_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

Alright, let's get to it!

separator

Effects of Anxiety

The mind races
A video on fast forward
Someone flipping channels
Without stopping to watch.

The pulse quickens
Drums pound in your ears
Adrenaline coursing through
Speeding without fear.

The chest tightens
Gripped in a vice
Trapped air in the lungs
Like balloons begging to burst.

The sweat accumulates
Dew misting the grass
Damp skin chills to the bone
With no warmth near.

The fog rises
Unable to focus
So far away inside
Echoes are all you hear.

portrait-1634421_1920.jpg

Source: Pixabay

separator

As you can see, I am a true beginner when it comes to my poetry! I'll be back tomorrow though, giving this creative writing thing another try for the challenge! :)

Join the Steemit School Discord: https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P

separator

blank-2.gif
keciah.png keciah2.png
keciah_red.png
SMbannersmall.png

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now