POEM: A Conversation with Rumi

So… The lows have been low lately. It's not all bad, but wowza, there's a hell of an undertow.

I got this poem climbing out of one such low. It feels like Rumi, to me.

The conversation. The wisdom. The anguish.

I quite like Rumi. I wrote a manuscript called Abandoning Rumi, actually. You can read the first chapter here on the blockchain. It won a writing contest by @thewritersblock last year, but I digress.

The poem.


rumi wave
Photo: Todd Turner /Unsplash.

line

A Conversation with Rumi


I have betrayed myself.
What do I do now,
Other than cry on the floor?

Make the best of it.
Be humble.

I’m bad at that.
In fact, I suck at a lot of things.
I pretty much feel like one monstrous mistake.

You do not see your own beauty.

No.
Well.
Sometimes.

You let doubt overpower you.

I wasn’t always this way.
I had confidence once.
It disintegrated.

You have to let go.

I’m trying.
I’ve been trying. Forever.
What is this perpetual punishment?

Old, ancient shame. You volunteered for this work.

I know. I hate myself for it.

You have to love yourself through it.

Fuck.

Keep showing up.

That I can do.
Barely, but I can do it.
I want more than to endure, though.
So much more.

Keep showing up.
Breathe.

I am.
My heart won’t stop crying.
How do I stop it from crying?

Cry.

I can’t even do that right.
They interrupt me.

So laugh.

I do. Then I cry again.
And then I breathe, and I do the next thing.
But this—this trap of my own making—

It is only a trap if you see it as one.

Fine. My deliverance, then.
My penance.
I hate who I have to be to play this role,
What I have to make myself do.

Stop hating it.

How? Seriously. How?

See yourself as you truly are.
Be that.

I want to scream.

Howl at the moon. As you wish.

I don’t know how to do this.

Show up. Let go.
Keep breathing.
Sing. Dance. Write.

Yes. Those are the usual suspects.
Thanks for the reminder.

Anytime.


Original writing by Katrina Ariel

line

I hope you enjoyed that snippet from the voices in my head. The cynical one never seems to let up, but the goddess has my back. I walk the line, though, more often than I’d like to admit.

Maybe it’s just a spring cleanse. Maybe it’s starting a new physio program and re-learning how to breathe. Maybe I’m just a tired mom. Probably all of the above.

I’ll keep showing up. Thanks for reading.

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of life.


alliance banner

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now