Poem / Running

Running

The fog was blinding,
I could not see where I was running.
Only, one thought remained with every breath I took,
Run before they come. Run before they catch.

The pain in my legs confused me,
The burn that I felt was it because of running?
Or was it because of the marks they created on my body?
Again, I did not have time to ponder on that.
Still, just one thought remained as I heard them coming closer,
Run before they come. Run before they catch.

As their steps came closer, fear started taking over my body,
My mind went into the place where there were no feelings,
No, hurt. Just, a big nothingness.
Between all the times I remembered being hurt and beaten up,
One thought kept me going,
Run before they come. Run before they catch.

Running became harder, and many thoughts entered my mind,
Is it worth it?
Will I make out of it?
What will they do, when they find me?
Should I stop and surrender?
Or should I keep fighting? Keep running?

A hand gripped my jacket, making me fall to the ground,
I didn’t make it.
It wasn’t worth it.
Their voices were louder than before, harsher and rougher.
It was like, their bodies aren’t theirs.
Like something else was controlling them,
And for the first time in years,
I looked in their eyes, and I saw it, emptiness.
Nothingness, my place. The place that I go to when with them.
How is that possible?
Does it mean that...

The first blow came, a kick.
Sharp and strong, straight into my chest.
I took in a deep large breath, it is going to be okay.
It’s going to be fine
Second, blow to the head.
Everything went blank, my ears were ringing,
I thought peace would finally come.
I was wrong, it happened again and again,
Blow after blow,
Every part of my body.

Slowly, my body left me or maybe I left my body,
I couldn’t really understand that.
Slowly, nothing made sense.
Slowly, everything faded but one thought remained.

There is no running before they come.
There is no running before they catch.

                   > Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! <
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center