Two Houses in Time



commercestreettwins.jpg



I live in two houses in Time
One occupied by me
And the other, by the man I used to be;


I’ll be going about my business
Tending to my affairs

And I’ll see the Past
At the bottom of the stairs

And the man ready to go outside
And meet you
Though you are not yet his bride.

And I want to greet him
Take him aside
And speak to him about his life.

I doubt he’d listen
For in his own way he’s vain
And would scarcely allow me time to explain

Still I want to reach him
If only to say
Cherish her and hold her close

Support her at home
Whatever the cost

For there will come a day
Your friends will disperse
Not one from the wedding will endure…

But she will,
For better or worse

And somewhere in future time
An older man
May stop you
And interrupt your plans

Listen to him
If he speaks to you
And exhorts you to cling
To the bride of your youth.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center