Fatal



ghosts-572038_1920.jpg



Any man whose errors take a lifetime to correct is a fatal man
Oppenheimer (with apologies)



Past midnight and I’m writing


The wind outside
Shuddering against the street,

The gnashing and moaning
Don’t concern me

But I worry small animals
Stay safe asleep.


Something in us makes us shelter
Close to a fire on windy nights,

Dark memories of ancestral spirits
Rise again to trouble our sight.

I am so tormented, Love,
By images and fears and things that aren’t

That no bed sheet ghost could climb the stairs
And make me fear I’d be his haunt.


There’s something in me
Dark and deep

Bedevils my mood
And troubles my sleep,

And the goblins that make others creep
Flee from me even when asleep…

Something dark they see in me
Far more fatal than they can be.



© 2018, John J Geddes. All rights reserved



Photo



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center