tHe wAy Called /// ZaWanQuit /// Helen Bird art & poetry

MAN

White man came to my Father's place over
here...

He arrived on Mother, Our beautiful Earths'
shorelines.

I cannot imagine what it was this white man
saw as he stepped upon this land!

Did he say he was tired, hungry, lost?

Did he see a huge banquet table all across my
Father's land, full of rich man's food?

Did he see many castles with rooms of
bedrooms?

And did he finally see a new home over
here?

As it is today on my Father's land,
I can't see it as it once was...

My Father's tongue, silenced by this white
man's slippery tongue.

My Father's many great spirits abandoned
through slippery pen and a phony good
book.

And I see what has come along to take
ancestor away,
for they went long away and
long ago,

...waiting for no one...

YES!

The white man sits at a banquet table once
filled with rich mans' foods,
and the foods
are near gone now...

His castles need constant repairs.

The white man is right where he once started
from;

Homeless,
Hungry,
Lost...

Excerpt from 'The Way Called Beautiful' a collection of Native American short stories, poetry & Helen Bird Art by Helen Bird aka inksanity

Available on amazon.com via this link http://a.co/ezettv8

Totem.jpg

'Totem' ink 2012 by Helen Bird

all original ink drawings by helen bird art - sharpies, gel, metallics, neons on art card stock, scanned & uploaded, no digital manipulation is ever used in my process...

follow me on twitter @Birdhelen https://twitter.com/BirdHelen <<<

designs, prints & products available on https://society6.com/birdart

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now