Poetry #1: Oklahoman Evensong

PZYV2803.jpg

Oklahoman Evensong

The eyes with which
God sees me -
I look up
and meet His gaze.
On a dark summer night,
The stars gave me
a new home.
I soon fall asleep -
The tired eyes
of the living,
And their photos lining the house,
They drag me to dream.
Gold,
Is what I am given,
When I lift the rock
to see the dawn beyond
my bed.
I am delivered
into the hands
of the handless:
A Morgan mare,
Runs with her colt,
They need no wings
to fly.
My Papa is a mountain,
With snowy peaks.
He is the mama rooster -
Herding the chickens,
And scratching dust in a 1992 pickup.
Across the desert,
In the red-stained cafes,
My Grandma’s unmoving eyes
dream of colts that have since
flown away.

May God’s eyes fall
on this homeland again!

XIEP4257.jpg


Photos were taken in Oklohoma, with a Sony Alpha5000. VSCO was used for editing.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center