Oh To Dance With Angels

Going to memorise and record this and post separately. A bit melancholic. Apologies. Was really wanting to write about fancy dress but this came out instead. Oh the muse, it rarely behaves. <3
Anyway, this is for @moeknows @girlbeforemirror and @rensoul @robyneggs @clayboyn you beautiful beautiful people who have remembered me and been so supportive even though I vanished for yonks due to rubbish hands xxx warning: it's a little sad and you may prefer the videoed version

Oh To Dance With Angels

We last met long ago on a sad, lonely day,
You said you’d just lost
The best friend you’d ever had,
And I said I’d lost my way.
And your eyes were like toffee,
And your hands were firm and strong,
And my hands felt like butter melting as you held them,
And whispered sweet nothings, (sweet nothings,)
And I took each and every word of them
And carved our future into stone.

We danced upon our moonlit joy that night,
We threw our pasts into the sea,
Convinced ourselves not to believe
The skins we shed
Still trailed and bled
Behind:
As shadow ghosts that both of us
Needed too much not to see.

You called me sun and moon and stars,
I sparked up -
Lit the pyre inside your eyes,
A Venus to your splendid Mars;
You a Vulcan to my Aphrodite.
And when we stumbled on a box
Torn, battered in the wind,
You laughed and picked its contents up -
A latent fingerprint examining
Of relics from a long lost scene.
And as you did a moment passed,
When both of us felt the presence
Of one whose dreams
Might have been… But did not last.

You placed a pork pie hat upon my head,
I tore it off and tried to run away
But stopped, and turned -
You had my fag,
And so through smoke rings
And all those ancient, musty clothes
And things,
We both collapsed:
A pair of mismatched conjoined twins
In fancy dress,
Each pretending we were one again,
Each pretending we could sew and patch
Our dreams into a different end.

But when I woke,
I was alone,
Not certain if you’d ever been:
A tatty box of old clothes and keepsakes
In my arms,
Your best hat squashed between
The pillow seams.
And when I went to mouth your name
I found my lips were sewn together;
My tongue buttoned like your sheepskin coat;
My teeth strapped tight
In faded strips of shredded leather.

(*Whispered)
We last met long ago on a sad, lonely day,
You said you’d just lost the best friend
You’d ever had,
And I wept and said,
I’d lost my way.

All work is original and by me, Jackie Morrey-Grace

Pic: India Earl Photography

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now