TODAY IS NATIONAL READ A BOOK DAY!

book stack.jpg

Every day provides us with an opportunity to celebrate life. Today I’m celebrating one of my favorite activities reading, on National Read a Book Day! Books have always brought me a lot of joy. I could escape into various worlds, times, and experiences. I read every day, sometimes for fun, sometimes to learn, and sometimes to keep abreast of what’s going on in the world.

My love of reading a variety of books inspired today’s poem. I hope you enjoy it.

WHAT SHOULD I READ TONIGHT?

What book should I read tonight,
so many books feel right.

There are books that I admire,
some that can inspire.

I thought high school teachers conspired,
deciding what books were required,

now the classics I reread,
a great story guaranteed.

Some books are for fun,
great for reading in the sun.

Books that provide knowledge,
to those I pay homage.

Some are scary,
set in Derry,

but I don’t clown around,
there is always a good book to be found.

Some books make me cry,
why did that character have to die?

Some books tell of a mystery,
that occurred in history.

Then there’s sci-fi,
why not give it a try?

No matter what I choose,
I will not lose!

The Ghost of Tom Joad (Live Video Version featuring Tom Morello)

Books have inspired many musicians. "The Boss" was inspired by John Steinbeck's The Grapes of Wrath.

10 Surprising Benefits of Reading More

Books are powerful tools! A good book can do wonders for your brain. Find out more about the power of books in the video below.

More FREE Upvotes: Steemfollower
FREE Daily Crypto: Swift coins

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now