Sweetened Words (SSP #2)

4e144a910a29529e1db728bff77897d5.jpg

It seems like love is like a drug
It picks you up and knocks you down
Throw my heart up in the clouds
Now watch it plummet to the ground
The paint peels off and dulls your armour
A boy on a horse, you're nothing more
.
The butterflies still fly about
But stay away from this loveless drought
How dare you take what's left of me
and use me for your fantasies?
Fairy tales are fake, you see
No one is ever "meant to be"
How many princes can you see?
You're sweetened words cannot fool me
.
Don't need no knight in shining armour, I wanna make an impact
Don't want them pretty little flowers, but I need a little respect
Don't need no magic fairy god mom
I need to do this on my own.
I've gotta do this on my own
.
You picked my feet up off the ground
I never thought you'd let me down
With all this pain that you've caused,
My heart bleeds hatred from your claws
I act like everything's okay
But I've got so much more to say
.
But once this hate subsides
Is it worth the try
Worth the time?
To change our lives and restart everything
Is it worth a try?

And when we change our minds
Is it worth the pain
worth the cry?
With a beat up heart
and shattered faith
Is it worth the pain?

20180219_203405.jpg

.
.
And when you close your eyes
am I on your mind
All the time?
Or is it just me
Who still sees
You in my sleep?


Steemit School Poetry discord channel

PHOTO #1: https://goo.gl/images/FCzeEF

PHOTO #2 IS AN ORIGINAL DRAWING

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now