POETRY AND PHOTOGRAPHY / Open for Business

I took this photograph a few months ago. I’ll bet that clock is worth a few bucks to an antiquer. Anyway the photo was the inspiration for my poem.

3BB58962-EBF5-4D08-BFA3-D4A9C81B076C.jpeg

Open for Business

No one repairs appliances anymore,
it’s too expensive. Here’s what they all say,
might as well just buy a new one.

And me, can’t say I blame them
but I do miss the money,
gotta pay bills,
gotta buy groceries.

And for my boy,
he ain’t much help,
got troubles of his own.

A good kid you know,
but no good in school,
no special skills.

He moved to the city,
works washing cars,
but he’s got no insurance.

He married a girl who does drugs,
spends all their money.

Most days I’m here in the office
waiting for business.

Got no need for computers,
no need for websites. My business
will walk through the door,
or call on the phone.

In the morning the sun
warms my shoulders
as it shines through the window.

My dog likes to sleep in my shadow,
when I lock up at night
he follows me home.

logo 1.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center