The Roaring In My Head


BACKLOG VIDEO
Older video of my first performance poem 'The Roaring In My Head'.
Originally uploaded to Youtube under Sprite on the 15th April 2017.

Thanks for watching! Let me know what you think.
More coming soon...

THE ROARING IN MY HEAD
Quick
Sharp
Rapier lightning dash flash
Gone
Bleeding hearts in its wake

It rips straight through us
Like a nasty case of norovirus
We'll call it lust, we'll call it a fling
A romance, a sordid affair, but here's the thing
When your heart meets a mate it's a different ballgame
You've got everything to lose and all to gain
It'll drive you insane.

And I know that's cliche but it's one for a reason
All's fair in love and war when honesty is treason
And when there's a warm pair of arms and a beating heart
And adoring eyes that break you apart
How can you say no?
And that's how it starts.

They say falling is easy and getting up hard
But love can't be held in a greetings card
'It's the way your soul glows in your eyes'
'The way your smile lights up my sky'
It's your hand around my throat and I
Can't breathe when you're around.

Make a sound. Please.
Tell me you feel it too
Because love is the roaring in my head that quietens only when I kiss you.
I miss you.
Help me, teach me not to want you
If music be the food of love, play on
I never meant to betray anyone.

I don't know if it's hate or if you're just hurting
If you hear past all these words I'm blurting to hear my heart or not
Can we just take a moment together, and breathe
Just breathe

Maybe this weather shall pass
The cacophany of her words in my ears will cease
Just give me time, please
Cos I love you, and that ain't changing, even if it is a sin
The gods can't compete with the din
The roaring in my head that quietens only when I kiss you


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center