Old Knees

We are a team
Chasing the wind together
Fae children on a summer day
Skipping through deep grasses
Flitting from flower to pebble

I pushed us too hard
I ran heedless of everything
Feral teen oblivious to pain
Gritted teeth to hide weakness
Stumbling from task to obligation

We can't trust each other
Pursuing adventure unsteadily
Forgotten adult burdened by choice
Determinedly limping
Through our daily walks

I took us for granted
Remembering us chasing the wind
It hurtles past as we fall
I wish I'd treated you better
Sprawled as the wind blows over us

2023.10.15.jpg

Image Description: A bumble bee pushes itself deep inside a small, bright pink flower. Its tiny legs balancing on the delicate petals.

https://elameadows.wordpress.com/2023/10/15/old-knees/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center