Hive a Laugh: Dick Heads "Hic et Ubique" Act 1 scene 3 | Hive a Study: The Gnostic Bible

I Had a friend who was a girl. We were 6 &/or 5-7. Kindergarden or 1st. We played together. laughed together. it was fun. Then one day during the recess, at one of the turtle islands, was J.C. and me. Then Chuck came running along in, invited me to play over by the swing set(I think). J.C. was at the top looking down while I was in the waters. Being swept away by the current. J.C. did not get off the turtle to help. I did not see her ever again. except when we were back in class. And throughout some other occasions. I ignored her calls to come be friends. What could I say. I was nervous of this really nice girl now woman. Seen a picture of her on fb. Still alive J.C.?

J.C. is the initials of the girl in the tale. Now woman.

I felt bad for leaving her there. seriously.
-Ya|Yo

Sun shin-ing Through.
Altering peR|spec-T-ives.
With His pre-senc(s)e.

Who brings presents?
To never give out
Ruby from his hands
Stretched out before me to see
Behind closed eyes
Red glowing light
Sorcerors stone
No asking whys
No time for lies
Time passing by
-Ya|Yo

I'm juggling three reading materials. and decided to go back through more slowly on one. Thinking.... page by page. one a time. If I live that long. Also thinking, I just make one big post... just need to find the right way to organize it on here. {THINKING}
Introducing the next book to show you apart from the hive a laugh theatrics. (btw, feel free to scroll down to the play if none of this interests you.)

The Gnostic Bible

A neat stack of books compiled in one. (or maybe in a different post? Ill skip the blanks and go straight for the zombie killers.)take notes people. teach yourself. I bring thee The Gnostic Bible. If thee really wants it. Search for it. the pdf is free and easy to find. Start here

The Gnostic Bible pg 3
ohh nope. looks like I can't. right?
The Gnostic Bible pg 4
"gov" isn't going to stop me bub. I see past the veil and see only threat of violence.
skip ahead to the "beginning". Nah, you guys can read that on your own if you like. Just felt like sharing on this boredom of a day.

I read somewhere I can't remember where but it read something like

I once cried to god why when the baby wouldn't stop cry-ing, then I looked into the eyes of the baby and realized god was crying

I wasn't more than that. someone quoted but never sourced it. I couldn't find it. eh. either way.

Nothing new under the sun

so the "saying" goes.
ONWARD

The Prologue.

Our Author wrote this Play, but cannot tell
Whether or no his genius has done well.
Mark well then what hee'l say, and doubtless you
Will swear though't be not quaint, yet most is true.
Heres no Ʋtopian stories, nor such things,
As some men fain, that flye upon the wings
Of fancy only, and include the station
Of their own projects in imagination.
Experience dictates what we have to say,
She being guide, I marvel who can stray.
Hear't out with patience, for we'l all contend
To please you all, and not a Mome offend.

Act 1 Scene 3

Enter Thrivewell, Peregrine, Bankrupt, Contriver and Trustall.

THrive.

And is it possible Sir, that you are old Peregrine's son, the East India Merchant? for your Fathers sake (whose memory I honour) command me wherein I may be serviceable to you; let me request you to be no stranger to my house.

Peregr.

Thanks is the least I can render you Sir, for this great favour.

Thrive.

If my heart speak not in my tongue, let my name be blasted with perpetual ignominy.

Peregr.

What ever others speak malevolently of fortune, I must proclaim her constant in her propitious smiles on me. Though I have travel'd from Pole to Pole, I ever found some civil, even among the barbarous.

Thrive.

Mr. Bankrupt, sure I should know you Sir, I've been acquainted with the name, and not unlikely your self.

Bank.

Sir, my name is so common every where, that 'tis no great wonder if y'are mistaken in the knowledge of me.

Trive.

But I shall easily convince you that I am not mistaken by particularizing where you liv'd. Were not you a Colour∣man in Corn-bill, London?

Trust.

Heaven grant a does not betray us.

(Aside.)

Bank.

I confesse I was ever a man of a good colour, and cu'd colour well what I did. But I know not your meaning Sir. Now had I rather been in St. Georges Channel in a great storm, than to have met with this man.

(Aside.)

Cont.

Wou'd I were employ'd by the King for the finding out Obrazeele to rid me of my present fears.

(Aside.)

Thrive.
Sir fear not that my knowledge of you, shall prove detrimental, but rather tend to your future security.

Trust.

I'me glad 'tis come to that, I was just at my wits end.

(aside.)

Cont.

And so was I too, I lik't him not at first sight, 'a was so forward to be acquainted with us.

(Aside.)

Bank.

Being then confident of your fidelity, I shall commit to your charge a secret.

Thrive.

Which you may be confident I shall keep safe.

Bank.

Trade failing, and my creditors too hasty to receive, what my debtors were too slow in paying me, I was necessita∣ted to fly from perpetual imprisonment. All that the sudden∣nesse of my departure wu'd permit me to take, I've brought hi∣ther; upon which slender basis, I intend to raise the structure of a future livelyhood, This Gent. Mr. Trustall, is a fellow-suf∣ferer with me in the same condition.

Contr.

Nay Gentlemen, since ye have made Mr. Thrivewell your Confessor, 'a shall be mine too; I'le promise you Sir, I stay'd in London so long for my own pleasure, that my Creditors had like to have made me stay a little longer for theirs.

Peregr.

Faith Gentlemen, I suspected no lesse, though com∣mon civility wu'd not permit me to vent my thoughts. I re∣joice at your escape, 'tis enough that you have your liberty; for 'tis such an instrument that if you make good use on't, 'twil procure you a being any where; What think you of me? I was never brought up to any Trade, yet live handsomly; I confesse I was born to land, and enjoy'd it so long, till I was weary on't, and then was never at rest, till out of that dirty lump, I had extracted a pure and portable Elixir. In short, to free my self from that trouble & vexation that are the inseperable compa∣nions of Lands and Tenements, I sold 'em.

(Caveat Emptor)

The monies I have long since spent, yet want not; the Earth's large, and has enough, (and to spare) to supply the wants of all her industrious children. He that has wit, (I think needs no plow; the apprehension of which perswades me, not to be con∣fin'd to any place. My great Grand-father Adam, (Emperor of the whole world) left me something every where, and I find it truly paid me where e're I come.

Thrive.

I must needs crave your pardon for my abrupt leav∣ing you, I have businesse of concernment (which I had almost forgot) that requires me, and I hope we shall henceforth be no strangers to each other,

(Exit.)

Contr.

My Masters, we have trifled away too much time al∣ready, 'twere very requisite we redeem what's lost, by making treble use of the present. Preferring employments will neither proffer nor prostitute themselves, unlesse we court them with labour and expence; as for my part (according to the proverb) omnem lapidem movebo, not leave a stone unturned, 'till my de∣fires by my endeavours are arrived at the Cape of good hope.

Trust.

Mr. Contriver, though you are as much a stranger to this Country as we, yet I look upon you to be better skilld in projecting: your advice therefore, what course were we best to take?

Peregr.

As I'me a Gentleman, if you'l take my opinion with you, I'me clearly for the second course, but believe me 'twere best for you to take some speedy course, lest e're long, a red Her∣ring make up all the courses in your dinner; if you'le consult where's the best Sack, how to procuve a handsome Girl, and a good noise of Musick, (they'r best together) I'le be of your counsel, otherwise I shall leave you to your worldly thoughts.

Contr.

Sir, you may be much deceived in your conceited happinesse, though fortune hitherto has look'd smilingly up∣on you, don't therefore vainly imagine, that she doats on you as her Minion. Woful experience has forc'd her chiefest favo∣rites to confesse, that she is nunquam stabilis, and by taking no more than she gave, leaves 'em in a condition far more misera∣ble than e're she found 'em.

Peregr.

I value neither the strumpets love nor hatred, I'me proof against the worst she can inflict on me; what e're it be, equo animo feram. Adversity shall not depress me so low, as to make me forget what I was, nor prosperity exalt me so high, as to slight my friend.

Contr.

First Sirs, let's provide us convenient lodgings, that done we may talk of our business at leasure.

Trust.

Let's about it then; but what's become of Phantastick, Hic & ubique, and Mrs. Hopewel? tha've given us the slip.

Bank.

They desir'd to be excus'd, being gone to procure Mrs. Hopewel a lodging.

Contr.

And I warrant you they intend to take up their quar¦ters with her; 'twas cunningly plotted.

(Exeunt.)

END OF ACT 1 SCENE 2

Read along on your own time, scene by scene here or get on reading ahead HERE.

Send me your funny plays to post on here such as the one presented here. or post the link to it or put it on hive yourself. whatever. Make a Hivian laugh a day. Even if it is a bit quirky comedy.

Cheers everyone. Hope you enjoyed my odd posts.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center