Planting Snow Peas

It's still very early in the growing season, but peas are a great early season choice as they like cooler weather. I planted these a few days ago, and the ironic part is that there is snow in the forecast for the weekend. So I guess this was a perfect choice.

pea2.jpg

The peas I planted are the Oregon Sugar Pod II variety. I have grown these before and have had good luck. One of the features of this pea that I like is the height. They grow to about 28 inches which works well with my portable fencing that I have. They also produce heavy yields.

After working the soil and raking it off, I placed the fence in the soil. This fence has 6 inch stakes attached so it can be pressed directly into the ground. This fence is hinged, so It can be used as a straight row fence or zigzagged to fit in more plants

pea1.jpg

Finally, I placed the seeds on the soil on both sides of the fence, then pressed each one about a half inch into the ground. A final hand patting was used to firm the soil.

pea3.jpg

Stayed tuned for progress of the peas.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center