Plagarism--What it is and what it isn't

I read a post this morning of an understandably angry Steemer who publishes in the category of food. 

I was inspired to look up the definiton of plagiarize and plagiarsm.  It seemed to me, based on my brief experience on STEEMIT to-date, that we--people, bots and programmers alike-- might not all be on the same page as to the meaning of these words.  

I know I  once fell victim to a different understanding of plagiarism.. The Steemcleaner accused me of stealing. I was mortified.  I was not passing off the work of someone else as my own. In fact I went as far as to thank the person and link to his Steemit profile, or so I thought. 

I learned the hard way that giving credit before inserting an image or video would result in all the text before the image not being visible in the published post! Yipes! Live and learn. Now I know more about the technical side of postig on STEEMIT. Hooray. In fact, I just discovered the "Editor" yesterday or the day before. You know how it goes with STEEMIT all the days start blending together.

Anyway, according to an article that I just read on the topic of plagiarism, retrieved June 23, 2017 from  Plagiarism.org http://www.plagiarism.org/article/what-is-plagiarism , here is an explanation of the verbBelow what you find between the term "[QUOTE]"and the term "[END QUOTE]" is copied directly from the source which has just been cited above. I have added italics and bold-face below.

[QUOTE]

According to the Merriam-Webster online dictionary, to "plagiarize" means:

  • to steal and pass off (the ideas or words of another) as one's own
  • to use (another's production) without crediting the source
  • to commit literary theft
  • to present as new and original an idea or product derived from an existing source

In other words, plagiarism is an act of fraud. It involves both stealing someone else's work and lying about it afterward.

[...]
All of the following are considered plagiarism:

  • turning in someone else's work as your own
  • copying words or ideas from someone else without giving credit
  • failing to put a quotation in quotation marks
  • giving incorrect information about the source of a quotation
  • changing words but copying the sentence structure of a source without giving credit
  • copying so many words or ideas from a source that it makes up the majority of your work, whether you give credit or not (see our section on "fair use" rules)

Most cases of plagiarism can be avoided, however, by citing sources. Simply acknowledging that certain material has been borrowed and providing your audience with the information necessary to find that source is usually enough to prevent plagiarism. See our section on citation for more information on how to cite sources properly.

[END QUOTE]
 

The quoted material was retrieved June 23, 2017 from http://www.plagiarism.org/article/what-is-plagiarism

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center