HOW TO: DRIVEBY SHOOT

Optional Text

DRIVE BY SHOOTING (Photography)

Just a fun post showing you a skillset that honestly no drivers should probably learn.
But if you're the passenger then it could be a really good skillset to hone.

I have done this for a dozen+ years and have gotten extremely good at it. I have taken thousands of these types of pictures as I've spent years on the road.

MORE EXAMPLES

These are all in a 10 minute stretch from earlier this week while in Idaho driving back from yellowstone.

Optional Text

Optional Text

TIPS

if you do want to have this skillset note i do not condone doing it as a driver.

  • Best to do this as a non driver
  • Shutter speed is very very important
  • Faster shutter speed the faster you're going
  • Faster shutter speed the closer the object
  • Shutter priority or Manual exposure are good options.
  • 1/2000th is kind of a good place to work from
  • Look for cool scenes
  • Look for great skies
  • Look for good lighting
  • Plan your shot before you get to it.
  • Frame it in your mind before you even get to it. (this is a great skillset to train)
  • Good timing... this is something you'll learn by doing this... which is a skill you'll use in all sorts of other photography.
  • Be really fast at changing your settings (To the point you could do it by touch, quickly and blindfolded)
  • Be willing to edit. Specially cropping, usually the closer part of the frame is not great so i crop that out. Part of the reason is because anything close to the car needs a higher shutter speed and if it's really close it's usually just gonna be blurry so you can just count that as needing a crop and your shutter speed is much more flexible.
  • You'll find that far away scenes don't even need fast shutter speeds.

I am now to the point I can do these shots without ever once taking my off the road. I can change settings without ever looking at the camera. And I can aim it out the window and know the timing without looking. It's not often I see scenes that really grab my interest anymore for these kinds of shots... but when there are scenes I love being able to get them.

I suggest practicing because it really helps you learn shutter speed, motion blur, fore-thought and timing.

Optional Text

Optional Text

All of these shots were at 1/2000 with one at 1/3200 and one at 1/1000 (can you guess which one that was?)
Keep in mind it was mid day with plenty of light so I did these at 200iso and f3.5... i could have changed those.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments