This content got low rating by people.

Ocean Window-Scripps Pier- La Jolla, California by: Peter Lik

Peter-Lik-Ocean-Window-Framed-Recess-Mount_1800x.jpg

I have been shooting the beauty of Scripps Pier for many years – yet, every time I return it speaks to me in a completely different way. Of all the times I have captured this rustic triumph of manmade architecture, I have never truly highlighted its perfect symmetry. That’s what I set out to accomplish on this warm summer day. By using a 300mm lens, I was able to focus on the length of the pier itself – almost a quarter of a mile – and totally isolating the surrounding landscape beyond its pillars. As I looked through the viewfinder, it was as if I was seeing the horizon through an old-fashioned camera with an accordion-style bellows lens. After some delicate maneuvering, I was stunned by the final visual result. Before me was a long tunnel of precision craftsmanship, stretching out towards the endless sea – balanced just right on either side. To complete this flawless vision, I set a long exposure – creating the dreamlike effect of a lingering turquoise mist at my feet. Pure magic. I am eternally drawn to the power of this structure – a perfect compliment to the vast waters of the Pacific.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center