A Man being controlled Or Deeper Meaning?

20180312_090123.jpg

This statue was carved by my great-grandfather and given to me by my grandfather. It depicts A man being held by his chest and the back of his head.

20180312_090009.jpg

Originally I thought it might have been my great-grandfathers views on society and how we're being manipulated and controlled. But then I remembered a previous conversation I had with my grandfather. He told me About my great-grandfather being in a terrible accident and losing his ability to walk. He began carving these wooden statues shortly afterward.

Maybe it had nothing to do with society but how he was feeling after he lost his ability to walk.
I was told my great-grandfather wasn't one to express his feelings verbally maybe this was his way of telling his family how he felt.

What do you guys think?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now