A chilly December walk on the beach

I thought it about time Lola and I want for a walk on the beach as I think our last visit must have been during summer. I had to drive her down in the car as her bad leg wouldn't cope with walking from the house. It was freezing so the car needed deicing; I wasn't sure we'd make it down as the car was showing a strange error. Seemed to be OK though! That's something to investigate another day ... it'll go away if I ignore it right?

The beach was frozen which makes walking on the sand nice and easy! Mist was rising off the sea which made it quite atmospheric in places.

609D468D-FD19-4745-909A-6518017963B6.jpeg

The sky had a lovely yellow/golden hue to the south.

556F3588-B31D-46C6-8F81-FD4D757316EB.jpeg

To there north it was more blood orange although that didn't come out too well in the photo.

45B22BAD-745F-4CE8-BDEB-53CBEDF8DB11.jpeg

We often see seals this time of year as they head to the beach to have their pups. I only saw this one swimming just off the beach. It and the dog had a bit of a staring match. The beaches a few miles up the coast will be packed full of them so I might have to take a drive up with the camera soon.

897C5D07-B530-4854-B89D-61142C93DE0C.jpeg

There has been sightings of the northern lights here on the east coast over the past few weeks. I've downloaded an app which suggests there may be a chance of seeing them this evening but it's all a little misty at the moment so we'll have to see if it clears up.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center