Bird Watching

Thanks to @etcmike

I was given this humming bird feeder a bit ago, and just been procrastinating on hanging it up. Well, the last couple of days I saw @etcmike had been posting on his bird watching. Well, I do not know much about birds, I also have not had a bird feeder up so I could not join in this time. Well, that got me to thinking about setting up the feeder I do have. I know I'm no bird expert, and this may not be the right time of year at all, but anyway I decided to give it a go, I got my humming bird feeder out, followed the directions that came with it.

Image Source

So, I boiled 1 cup of water and added 1/4 cup sugar to the water. Waited until it cooled off, having the spot to hang it all picked out, I know it also may not be the best spot. But it will be better there than not having the feeder hung up. This kind of feeder is nice because there is a spot you can fill with water to keep the ants from taking over the feeder. Another trick I have seen my mom use to preventing ants on other bird feeders is to hang them up with fishing line.

All set and ready to go outside! I picked hanging this in the driveway right out the front door as this is the safest and best location I have for the bird humming bird feeder.

Outside hanging, hope this will start to attract the humming birds.

I'm not great at picture taking, but I am making an attempt to learn photography. The first picture of the bird came from wikimedia, the rest of the pictures I took with a Nikon D5100.


Steem On!

Thanks to @papa-pepper!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center