The Selfridges Building in Birmingham, England

During a short stay in Birmingham, England, I was impressed by this building. I don't think the few photos I took do it justice, it's one of those things that you have to see for yourself. The building was designed by the architects Jan Kaplický and Amanda Levete. Construction started in 1999 and it was completed in 2003. It's in the blobitecture style, that's one that I had to look up. The building cost £60 million and won the RIBA Award for Architecture in 2004, as well as several other awards.

Walking around the building, it felt like it was a living thing, like a huge whale.

1.jpg

I didn't have much time to take these photos, I'll have to go back and see what it looks like from the inside. It's noticeable that there aren't any windows, almost all the light inside must come from the glass roof?

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

I like how the building contrasts with this old church that's nearby

6.jpg

If you like my post, please upvote, resteem and leave a comment.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center