Basle reflections I - Capturing unreal reality [1 SBD challenge inside]

Greetings Steemians!


This morning I made a trip to Basle for a little photo hunt. Initially, I had aimed to capture how spring is starting to spread across the town. However, the weather and thus light conditions did not cooperate. It got grey and cloudy and finally some rain set in.

And so I omitted my initial intension and I started to meander along the streets. Looking here and there for anything worth capturing.

Then, more or less by coincidence, a bank's shop-window caught my attention. I saw a bird and a fox sitting in a boat, looking towards an elderly gentleman in a waiting tramway. How unreal. I quickly grabbed my camera and captured that very moment:

thumb.jpg

And then it strucked me. An entire realm of new possibilities opened up in front of my eyes. The world, how it is mirrored and distorted in glas fronts or shop windows and at the same time blended with what shines through from behind the reflective surface.

Capturing collages that already exist as an observable reality and don't need to be created. Composing alone by altering the angle of vision.

I feel I have tapped into something that is worth some further exploration.

With this I leave you with my first collection of Basle reflections. See for yourself whether these photos appeal to you. I'll be happy to read about your thoughts in the comments!

collection-ludwig.jpg

art-museaum.jpg

shop.jpg

museum-1.jpg

museum-2.jpg

tesla.jpg

ufo.jpg

And here the challenge: one of the pictures shows a detail of a famous sculpture. What is the name of the sculpture? First comment with the correct answer will be rewarded with 1 SBD.

Thanks for watching and have a great day on Steemit!

Shaka


All photos were recorded by myself with a Canon EOS 7D equipped with a Tamron 18-270 mm lens.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center