How To Achieve The "Invisible Black Backdrop"

A few months ago, I posted this content on my personal website, http://sarahjanele.com, but I thought it would be great information to share with my friends here on Steemit!

Sarah-Rodebush-coke-bottle-sqibb.jpeg

Have you ever wanted a studio quality image, but didn’t have the backdrop or studio setup to turn to? With this lighting technique, photographers can achieve this style of lighting no matter where they are. All you need is a speed light with a snoot in addition to your DSLR camera and your subject. Let me explain.

If you think about it, you can achieve a completely black image with your DSLR by taking a photo indoors with ISO 100, f-stop around f/16, and shutter speed around 1/200. I’ve done this many times on accident and have had the unfortunate result of a completely black screen on my camera when I was trying to capture an image of my subject. However, this can actually be used as an advantage when trying to achieve studio quality lighting without a backdrop. By using the speed light and snoot, you can direct the flash to only light up your subject, while leaving the rest of the background black. When you do this, you can achieve these types of results: (scroll down)

The following three images were taken in my small apartment with our kitchen lights on. The male model is my husband, and he is the one kneading the bread dough as well. I used a speed light with a snoot directed at my subjects, and enhanced the clarity in all my photos in Adobe Lightroom in addition to other minor hand edits adjusting the highlights, coloring, etc. The general settings for these images are: ISO100, f/18, 1/200.

Sarah-Rodebush-purple-leaves-black.jpeg

Sarah-Rodebush-SQIBB-backdrop-male-face.jpeg

Sarah-Rodebush-Bread-flour-knead-landscape.jpeg

Caryn Esplin greatly influenced my work as she taught me this invisible background technique and showed me examples of great images created with this technique.

If you have any questions or comments, please leave some feedback below! Thanks everyone!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now