Wednesday Walk Blog, New Digital Art and Photography

Wednesday Walk

IMG_2863 (1).jpeg


Alright, Hivelanders, I am getting to the end of my shots from out trip last Tuesday to the Bloedel Conservatory. I am not sure what those purple flowers are called, but they sure were pretty. We also did a lot of walking that day both before and after; come join us on the explore.


IMG_2798.jpeg


The conservatory sits on the highest hill in Vancouver. The train lets us off a few blocks away and then up you go. It takes about 10 to 15 minutes. But the view is worth it and a little different every time you look at it.

The clouds were giving the hills stripes. It was an amazing effect.

heavy clouds, sunbursts
mountains transform
to zebras


IMG_2805 (1).jpeg

IMG_2804.jpeg





The dome boasts some beautiful tropical flowers and blooms, like the clouds, different every time you visit. Again, I have no idea the name of these flowers, but they reminded me of candied cinnamon hearts.

IMG_2882.jpeg


This plant was fun to interact with.

Yes, interact with. It closes its leaves when you touch them. I am not sure if it was a defensive or offensive move. I don't think it was carnivorous, but there aren't as many insects under the dome as there would be in a real jungle.


IMG_2882 (1).jpeg

IMG_2807.jpeg


I once lived in a pretty boring town, well boring if you asked me. I wanted so much to be able to escape to someplace else, more interesting, in a blink of an eye, to discover a portal that allowed an individual to bend spacetime and get somewhere else better and fast. Maybe with a talking lion that would anoint me a queen.

The conservatory is a little like Narnia. Outside the rain had returned and the sharp northern wind, but inside the weather is balmy and I am hanging in the tropics and time flies by.

IMG_2806 (1).jpeg

IMG_2866.jpeg


We got back outside and took another look at the view. The clouds had thickened and the zebra returned to the savanna of my imagination. Still the North Shore mountains were impressive and breast-taking.

We made our way back down the hill, left the Park, and made our way through the local neighborhood and back to the train station.


IMG_2883.jpeg


IMG_2888.jpeg

IMG_2885.jpeg

IMG_2886.jpeg


I have been getting a lot of joy these days from the way people decorate their yards. Minime spotted these shrubs spotting us. I can't decide if this topiary is creepy or cute, but I love it. That said Edward Scissorhands has little to worry about.

Well, that was our #Wednesdaywalk. Hope you got out there too and enjoyed your neighborhood, enjoyed a new neighborhood, or perhaps discovered a wormhole to the tropics, or a secret door to Narnia even.



IMG_2863.jpeg


***

Words and Images are my own.

Click on any title below to further explore and support my writing.


41W9NO+twnL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

51yzou8DjZL.jpg

51Kh1EXgJ4L.jpg

41jG7IKuSWL.jpg

31gdhyzrl3L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

51myL5BPXFL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_-1.jpg

23561680_2086437891584498_8465926052567756066_n.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center