What a weird moon! My first time to see this!

The Planet Jupiter is very close to the moon tonight in South Africa! But I couldn't believe my eyes, as I expected to see only the crescent moon, but here the whole moon is revealed! Did any other Seffrican zoom the moon tonight?

And so I took the same shot again and I had the same result! The little bright spot to the left is Jupiter and as you can see, the entire moon is again showing up! We are supposed to only see the Crescent moon tonight.

Here we are! This is all that we are supposed to see and strangely on a full zoom, the rest of the moon is not showing up!

A friend called me to say that he saw a double crescent tonight and he thought his eyes were playing up.
I found it strange that the whole moon would show up only on a quarter zoom and not on a half, or full zoom?
Could the light from Jupiter have had any effect here?

Thank you for visiting our charity page!

All photos are my own and taken at 7:50pm with a Canon SX60 (Ultra Zoom)

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center