My granddaughter dragged her parents along to vist her Granddad!

Kaylee (11 years old) tells her mommy (my youngest daughter) that she only has one grand parent (me) and that she wants to visit me more often before she also loses me. What love at such a young age?

And this is the Fraser family! Gary Fraser at the right back, Lucille Fraser and me! Miss Kaylee at the front!

Height seems to be the curse of our family! Little Kaylee at 11 is almost as tall as Lady Marian (my wife) I am over 6 feet tall and 3 of my step brothers (by the same father) is over 7 feet tall. Kaylee will stretch over 6 feet tall, the same as her mother!

And here we have the girls of the day! Lucille, Kaylee's mother (my youngest daughter) at the left, Miss Kaylee in the middle and Lady Marian at the right!

Why am I sharing this?
Well we live far apart and I see my grand children very seldom! Selfish? NO. Their parents are all successful people in this "dog eats dog" life and I rather take a back seat so that they can all get on with their lives'.

But sadly on this day I have discovered that it is the children that suffer!
My staying away was indeed selfish and a little girl had to tell me that she loves me and wants to see more of me!
Oh yes, I was shocked at first, but then I realized that they need me in their lives.
I run around helping everyone else in the charity work that we do, but I neglect my own!

Certainly an issue that I am going to change from this day forward!
At times I have seen so many grandparents with their little ones and I always felt a twinge!
No more! Now my busy children will have to take a back seat and my 6 grandchildren will get the love that they deserve!

Finally! Please do not allow your life to stand between you and your loved ones! There is no excuse!
Think about it!

Thank you for your kind visit!

All photos are my own a taken with a Canon SX60

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center