Every day holds new surprises!

We had another totally unexpected visitor today!

Imagine getting up early morning and as you go outside, you scan the area all around and notice something unusual. I saw a movement out of the corner of my eye and swung my head to look intensively at the big tree next to our cottage.
Yes, I saw something lumpy that was not a natural part of a branch and my first thought was that it was a cat.
But come, let me show you the story!

See what I mean? There's a lump in the fork of the tree that should not be there!

Ever so softly I approached the tree to try and figure out what it was! Oh, oh, oh, a sleeping owl.

I let out a soft cough and he peeped!

Here is a closer look at his eye!

Then it was time to leave for church and the first thing upon our return was that I checked if the owl was still in the tree.
I could not get to the frontal side of the owl, as the tree that he was in is inside a fenced off property next door and we were told that the residents had gone out for the weekend and that they would return later on today.
So I waited!

So, the neighbors returned and they allowed me to come into their yard. This is the first shot that I took of the sleeping owl from the front side.

I acted the coughing part again and as I was in the open, this guy opened his eyes to stare directly at this idiot with the camera that was disturbing his much needed sleep.

As a bonus, I took another few shots and then left him alone to get his rest!

He is still there now at 19:30hrs and I presume that he will only leave at about 21hrs to start his nightly hunt. My first to see a "Spotted Eagle Owl" and I hope he will return to the tree. If he does, we will organize to put up an owl box for him in the big tree! What a blessing to see this lovely creature free and wild!

Thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center