Summer Solstice + Peonies

Today is summer solstice in the northern hemisphere. It's the longest day of the year. The sun rose at 3:41 am today and it will set at 10:59 pm. The length of day is 19 hours 16 minutes. @tarazkp posted these figures for where he lives and it turns out that the day is 15 minutes shorter here. The difference in latitudes is 30' or half of a full latitude. I'd have to go about 55 kilometers straight to the north to enjoy the kind of long days the people of the city Taraz inhabits get to enjoy. I'd probably end up in the middle of the largest open body of water of Lake Päijänne. Not fun without a boat. :)

It is also Juhannus as Midsummer is called in Finland. Today was a public holiday. The cities are mostly empty as most people have gone to the countryside or to attend festivals of various kinds.

No, I haven't had anything to drink, yet. I'll finish cleaning the windows of our house. I need to clean the windows upstairs, which means that the job is about 40% done. I like the fact that we have double glazing in this country but at moments like this it's a nuisance.

My wife asked me to send her pictures of our peonies when they bloom. I'll do that. But I'll share them here, too.


Other flowers. I'm a bit too tired now to look up what species they are if I don't remember that.

A rose

Lilies?

Pelargonies in a box under a window

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center